Minestrone Soup and Bean Spreads

    This photo is from a vegetarian meal we had last Monday–it shows black bean stew, red cabbage with walnuts, rice noodles with peanut sauce, and Mexican brown rice. All of the recipes, except the noodles, are from Cooking Vegetarian by Vesanto Melina and Joseph Forest.  It was an impromptu photo, so the balance is not “perfect” but the meal was good.
 
 
Here are my cooking plans for next Monday:
 
Minestrone Soup with Chickpeas or Kidney Beans
 
A Bean Spread, such as Hummous or a Northern Bean Spread
 
Steamed Kale with Red Pepper, oil, vinegar, and Sesame (or Sunflower) Seeds
 
I am using the cookbook I noted above as my guide, but I am sure similar recipes can be found elsewhere on the web.
 
Just as I did last week, I’ll cook up this chow on the weekend.  On Monday we’ll have lots of vegetarian food for lunch and dinner.  For breakfast we’ll have our usual tahini (sesame seed butter) or peanut butter and toast.
 
Vegetarian Thought for the Day:  Spreads are great for toast, crackers, sandwiches, condiments, and dips.  My favourites are nut or seed butters, particularly tahini (sesame seeds) and sunflower seed butter. Other options are almond butter and pumpkin seed butter.  Vegetarians also enjoy hummous and other bean spreads, which typically have a lower fat content.
3 thoughts on “Minestrone Soup and Bean Spreads

  1. I am so glad I found you as a nominee by My Journey with Hijab of my blog-aholic award. Hope you enjoy it and will also check out my blog and see what’s cooking in our kitchens. As a blog-aholic friend I will now be able to follow you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

