Starting My Organic Vegetable Garden

This year I am planting my first vegetable garden–and of course it will be organic, as eating chemicals is not my favourite past-time (although unavoidable when eating conventional produce).

I’m tracking my beginner attempt to plant vegetables, herbs, and companion flowers, thinking it may inspire or even help other people starting out.  If you’re just starting too, you may want to take a look at my previous gardening blog, ” Gardening Guidelines for Rookies Like Me”.

Starting a garden plot by ontheland

This picture shows my carefully chosen plot of land– it’s near trees but far enough away to not be caught in their shadows.  In the right background, you may be able to see the composter, purchased for a reasonable price from the municipality. 

Because I am creating the garden plot in a grassy area, I have covered an  8′ x 12′  rectangle with cardboard and rocks (to hold the cardboard down).  The “plan” is that the cardboard cover will suppress growth underneath.  I’ll then try to loosen the soil and remove old grass.  As the land is very rocky near Kingston, Ontario, I’ll be building containers and adding soil.  Precisely how this will be done is yet to be determined. 

My guides are two  books:

Starter Vegetable Gardens, 24 No-Fail Plans for Small Organic Gardens by Barbara Pleasant (2010, Storey Publishing)

Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew–I have the 1981 edition on loan from the public library–there is a more recent edition that has benefits and drawbacks, according to reviews on Amazon.com.

In upcoming blogs I’ll describe my planting layout, container construction, soil choices, compost choices, and how I’ll be warding off neighbourhood rabbits.

5 thoughts on “Starting My Organic Vegetable Garden

  1. How wonderful! I live in a small apartment and have been growing a modest kitchen garden for a few years now, it is one of the most rewarding experiences that I could have ever done. My daughter is still an infant now, however I look forward to growing things with her as she gets older.

    Great job on this blog – I love it! So many wonderful and inspiring ideas.

    Like

  2. I live in Kingston, in the west end and I have a large garden which I keep expanding each year. My goal is to get to the point where I’m growing all my own food….we’ll see how that goes :). All the best with your garden and i hope you keep us posted on what you decide to grow and how it turns out for you. Pictures are great too :).

    Like

    1. Hi Jennifer,

      Good to hear from you. Sounds like you’re an experienced gardener. I hope to post a garden blog soon–life has been intervening, but I have done some sod turning.

      Janice

      Like

      1. Hi Janice,

        Nope not an experienced gardener, this is my 3rd year, I just keep trying more and more each year. I’m trying to seed save as well. I love hearing about other people’s gardens and hearing what they’re doing as I end up learning from them. Wehn I post more info about my garden on my website I’ll send you a link and we can compare notes :). enjoy!

        Jennifer

        Like

      2. I’ll look forward to getting your link. Hope to take a picture and move into action this weekend! The weather is looking good too which is a good thing!

        Like

Leave a Reply

