Beans and grains for spring and summer menus

 

There has been a lot of chilly wet weather lately –I found myself cooking minestrone soup with beans and pasta the other day.  Today I decided to make Vegetarian Molasses Baked Beans in the slow cooker–it’s cooking as I write.  Baked beans can be served hot or cold as a main or side dish.  For Meatless Monday,  I’ll serve the beans with a spinach salad or hot greens, and perhaps some toast–I might also make some brown rice.

Another food that I’ve talked about in other posts is quinoa–it’s great in raw or grilled vegetable salads.  I’ve run out of quinoa so won’t be cooking with it next week, but I just want to mention again that it’s a great, satisfying food–high in protein, fibre, and minerals.  It’s also a gluten-free grain (technically not a grain, but it’s grain-like)–important for those who have a gluten sensitivity or allergy.  Quinoa recipes can be made using brown rice— brown rice and quinoa are interchangeable in many dishes.  Canadian Living Magazine offers a few quinoa recipes, such as:

Black and White Bean and Quinoa Salad,

Gluten-free Quinoa and Lentil Salad with Creamy Tahini Dressing, and

Grilled Vegetable Quinoa Salad–featuring quinoa, grilled vegetables and feta cheese.

Leave a Reply

