French Marigolds in a Vegetable Garden: ‘From every Angle’ Photo Challenge

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “From Every Angle.”

This week the WordPress weekly photo challenge invited us to photograph a stationary subject from different angles, for example from above, from below, from the left and from the right. As I browsed my camera shots  I realized that, though I often take multiple photos of a subject, my variations are usually subtle–aiming to display a variety of angles was to be an interesting exercise.

This evening I went out back and took some pictures of maturing wild ‘corn’ stalks and thistles–unfortunately I wasn’t very pleased with the results. I sauntered over to the vegetable garden to do my daily look around and selective watering.  While there, I realized that a particular patch of French Marigolds has become quite bushy. As  I have been harvesting vegetables and removing their remnants for the compost bin, the Marigolds have been blazing strong. Here are a few shots taken from different angles:

image

image

image

image

French marigolds — Tagetes Patula

Why Marigolds in a Vegetable Garden?

French marigolds, the flowers shown in my gallery, are thought to be the most effective kind of marigold for a vegetable garden. (Hawthorn Farm seed packet and SFGate Homeguide.)

Marigolds add colour and beauty to a vegetable garden, and  have other roles as well.  They are planted as helpful companions to attract beneficial hoverflies and repel  pests.  For example, it is thought that marigolds repel cabbage worms from cruciferous crops and that their root secretions kill harmful nematodes (microscopic root worms).  For their nematode killing properties they are often planted near tomato plants.

8 thoughts on “French Marigolds in a Vegetable Garden: ‘From every Angle’ Photo Challenge

    1. Hi–you are probably looking at the tall stems with feathery offshoots–that’s dill a relative of fennel I believe. Thanks for asking. I think there is also some wild catmint visible. 😊

      Like

    1. Good luck. I seem to get a lot of green worm cruciferous munching whatever I do…this year the kale was good at the beginning of the season but by the end munching has taken over despite cover…maybe I’ll create a specific marigold fortress next year😏😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know, what really worked (in the beginning, at least) was crop covers. Eventually the plants got too tall and it got too hot so I removed them but next year I might consider creating a taller cover. The worms hide in the nooks and crannies of the broccoli & cauliflower, almost impossible for me to get out, let alone the ducks but if I think if I can stop the pest at moth/butterfly stage, I might have a better chance. Good luck to you, too!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s a good idea…taller crop cover–because the same thing happened to me, eventually I had to remove the ‘lid’. I’ve been thinking about trying broccoli again and perhaps that’s what I need to seriously consider–could I make a big enough tent..I’ve got the winter to think about it 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

